a recap of a little chunk of my 2018 // it’s finally Autumn πŸŽƒ (oh spooky!), plotting a new WIP + I haven’t done a recap in so long!

Hello, did you miss me?

I mean probably you maybe did! It’d be nice to think people realised I wasn’t posting and I’m sure some people missed me…right?! Anyways, the point…I’m back…FOR NOW! I’m using way too many ellipses why have I become a 40-year-old person texting.

I’ve missed recaps and I’ve missed posting but I’m feeling so motivated and positive right now and I’m finally in the mindset for blogging and doing things I enjoy!

BOOKS

AUGUST

Screenshot 2018-09-29 at 10.01.57

I’m trying (trying)Β to not stress over HOW much I’m reading. I want to read books I think I will genuinely enjoy and I have been enjoying books lately (kind of) so that’s ALWAYS good! I’m going to lower my reading challenge to 70 so it’s a lot more achievable! (next year I am NOT setting myself a challenge, I realise it’s too much pressure for me).

Radio SilenceΒ by Alice OsemanΒ Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… // This was such a nerdy, cute, inclusive and perfect story and I absolutely fell in love with it. ALED. FRANCES. FEELS. FRIENDSHIP. [read my review here]

The Wicked KingΒ by Holly BlackΒ β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… // I am so privileged to read this early, honestly, and it seriously, literally one of the best sequels ever. Jude and Cardan’s relationship is LITERALLY AND ACTUALLY MY ENTIRE HEART. [read my gushing review here]

I Was Born For ThisΒ by Alice Oseman β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†// Oh how I desperately wanted to rate this five stars without hesitation but uh…this was bad. [read my review here]

Here We Are NowΒ by Jasmine WargaΒ β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†Β // It was cute and sweet but not memorable at all! I liked it though, very short.

SEPTEMBER

Screenshot 2018-09-29 at 10.01.41

Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan // I don’t even have words to describe how absolutely stunning this book was. It has a special place in my Asian heart.

The Graces by Laura Eve β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† // It was really gripping and I could not put it down, but the ending kinda annoyed me and there were a lot of problems I had with the main character. [read my review here]

And I Darken by Kiersten White β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜† // Lada, Radu, Mehmed are my children and you better not hurt them but it the story was high-key boring. [read my review here]

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†//Β  This was so action-packed and easy to read and it was great AND JUST!!! It was really good. [read myΒ review here]

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜† // I GOT AN ARC OF THIS AND I WAS SO EXCITED AND IT WAS REALLY GOOD.Β  [read my review here]

#FIVESTARATHON
lil bit of October

I’m splitting this into a tiny new section and this is basically a readathon that was hosted by Elise and May and I decided to join in because it looked pretty cool! You were supposed to read 5 books within the week but I read three which I think is okay since it’s my first time participating in anything like this.

Screenshot 2018-10-13 at 14.43.39
book on my TBR for a long time, a sequel and Lemmings was not 500 pages but it was a big book okay.

Wild Beauty by Anna Marie McLemoreΒ β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜† // This was so beautiful, the writing, the characters – just everything about this book was wonderful and made my heart warm.

Cress by Marissa Meyer β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† // Again, really good and the ending made my heart stop (KAI. AND CINDER)

Are we all Lemmings and Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne [no decided rating] // My first Holly Bourne book and all the characters seemed white and a bit bland in terms of personality but it was also really good!

BOOK HAUL

Dkoy3k-XcAA65hYDnsXMASXcAASfRe

I’ve been requesting books I’m REALLY excited about and here are two of my most anticipated releases of 2018!! I used to get 10 books a month but I realise I was being REALLY materialistic and I hated it. Now I only want books if I know I’m going to read them.

IMG_20181019_164331_289.jpg
the devouring gray* not GARY i hate myself

 

LIFE

  • Β Omg HOW do I even BEGIN this section. Life is CRAZY.
  • So I went back to my school of course and I’m SO STRESSED OUT GUYS. I have two really important exams this academic year and I’m only slightly freaking out!!
  • It’s really nice to be back in school but also it’s made me so stressed and like I can’t sleep and I’m SO TIRED after I come back from school.
  • I have not had time for blogging, sorry! I’ve been just so OVERWHELMED.
  • I look forward to weekends, thank god they exist.
  • I might be going to Spain next year!!!
  • I went Ice skating with friends!
  • The Hate U Give Movie is coming out SOON aghhhh.
  • I had tests this week and they went okay and spent way too much revising for all of them.
  • I’ve been delving into so much more music lately!
  • I wrote a poem for a poetry contest but was too scared to enter. My life in a nutshell.
  • And yeah. School has been taking up SO much of my time and a lot of the time I just have thoughts about WHY IS LIFE LIKE THIS but yeah, I’m good.
  • Waking up early will be the death of me.
  • World Mental Health Day happened so here’s all my love being sent to you through this screen.
  • so so tired.
  • Today was the last day of school before half term (we get a week off school and we’re back) BUT GOD I AM SO TIRED
  • this week was full of loads of tests and I did “meh” in all of them!
  • I tried not to stress but I DID and also might have had a few breakdowns here and there. JUST THE USUAL.

43120678_1065250370313290_6256393371765579680_n.jpg

writing.png

So guys. If you follow me on Instagram (which you should follow rn) I have been posting on my story about my new WIP!!

IMG_20181013_161556_148IMG_20181013_161739_246IMG_20181013_161754_181

I really want to make a post about this so I’m not going to say too much about it but I’ve been having so much fun plotting and it’s got The Raven Boys and The Accident Season vibes which…I mean this is the book of MY HEART and it’s about witches and smol boys and and AND I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH. That is all. (post coming about this v soon!!)

Also,Β I’ve been writing LOADS of poetry lately!! Here’s a snippet of one.

IMG_20181013_161712_922

GOALS{goals from last month}

  • go out at least 5 timesΒ βœ”
  • uh, have funβœ”
  • meet up with friends and make plansβœ”
  • read 20 books ❌❌❌
  • that’s it coolΒ βœ”βœ”βœ”

{goals for next month/next chapter of life}

  • have good posture
  • drink a water bottle every day
  • read 3 books a week
  • do homework on time
  • keep organized
  • be kind to others and yourself
  • get 8 hours of sleep
  • have fun in your week break!! pls!
  • see the hate u give? maybe.
  • finish merlin rewatch (please ilsa!!)

 

Let's Whisper

So how is your October going? What books have you been reading? What have you been listening to? What upcoming things are you excited about? How do you de-stress? Are you excited to see THUG as a movie? Let me know in the comments!

Ilsa - Edited

28 thoughts on “a recap of a little chunk of my 2018 // it’s finally Autumn πŸŽƒ (oh spooky!), plotting a new WIP + I haven’t done a recap in so long!”

  1. I would tell you to not stress about school but like… that’d be very hypocritical of me, as I had multiple breakdowns the last couple of months over school (i’m better now tho). Never stop posting your writing on your Instagram stories haha I always look forward to them πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry school has been stressful but I’m glad you’re doing better. I haven’t posted on my Instagram story in a while, mostly because I don’t want to use social media too much and I haven’t been writing that much?! I might start soon tho.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s good to take a break from social media. I should probably do that too, or limit myself to using it only a few times a week.

        Like

  2. This was super fun to read and oh! my! god!!!! I relate to your goals so much it hurts. My posture is awful and after reading that I remembered to sit up straight so thank you for that reminder! Anyways, I wish you luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for catching us up! I love long posts so I enjoyed reading this today.
    I read your IWBFT review and I was surprised to see an Alice Oseman book go from 5 stars to 1 star. But wow, your review is spot on!

    I can’t wait to read all the other books you have listed on here. Happy reading!

    Like

  4. I have been reading Mirage since forever because I have been in a reading slump forever and I don’t know if the book is boring me or if it’s just the slump that’s making me think I’m not enjoying it? 😭

    I just read your review for IWBFT and I literally loved tf out of this book so it was interesting to see your perspective! You seemed to note all the things I liked about it as positive aspects though so that’s good πŸ˜„ I actually read Radio Silence afterwards and both were five star reads for me!

    And I’m so excited for THUG! I have plans to see it on release day so I’m literally just counting down now!

    Like

    1. Oh have you finished Mirage by now since I’m pretty late responding. i was so excited for it, i hope it was/is good?!

      I really hoped I would love IWBFT – I’m glad you loved it and wish I could say the same. Radio Silence is still a favourite tho!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh glad to see you’re back!! And i feel you, this month is first time since the start of the year i feel genuinely excited about blogging! I hope you find time to be around as much as you hope but i know life can get busy and that’s okay!

    Like

  6. It’s good to see you posting again and to hear from you love ❀ I'm so sorry that school has been stressful, I'm sending you tons of positive vibes and everything and I hope the upcoming months will be a bit better ❀
    You've read some great books – I'm so happy you enjoyed Radio Silence, I loved this book so much. I'm also curious about that Holly Bourne book, as well as Girls of Paper and Fire, which everyone basically screams about, haha πŸ™‚
    Take care of yourself xxx

    Like

  7. This post is…. too relatable, tbh. I’ve also been really stressed with school and I feel like everything is a bit overwhelming and I haven’t blogged AT ALL even though I have so many things (mostly books) I want to talk about. Ugh. But I really hope you can relax during your break, I have a week-long break soon too so hopefully we’ll both manage to sleep loads and chill!
    I’m really happy you’re in the mood for blogging now and I can’t wait to see more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I hope the stress level decreases soon! I’ve also been really stressed and a bit of a mess, so I FEEL YOU.
    I’m also plotting a new WIP and I have a really good feeling about it!! I hope your plotting is going well- plotting is SOOO hard, so I’m wishing you luck! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. IVE MISSED THESE POSTS AND YOU AND YOUR AMAZING BLOG SO MUCH! (Sorry for the all caps there)
    The books that you’ve read sound absolutely amazing as well! I’ve been wanting to read β€˜Girl of Paper and Fire’ and β€˜A Very large expanse of sea’ for what feels like ages now haha..
    Also, I totally get school stress!! It’s absolutely awful, but the good thing is, it can only get better! I really hope that it does for you!! ❀️
    I’m so excited to hear more about your WIP!! (Btw you go girl! Balancing school+writing is really hard.) Please share more details
    Also, your poetry is simply beautiful! I love it! I need to read more of it! 😍

    Like

  10. OF COURSE I MISSED YOU, ILSA. HOW COULD I NOT?!
    Yay for reading so much! I want to read a lot of the books that you enjoyed (Radio Silence, Wild Beauty) so I hope I get around to them soon and that your reading continues to go amazingly. :))
    I hope you enjoy your week off of school!❀️

    Like

  11. CAN WE AGREE THAT SCARLET IS THE BEST BOOK FROM THE SERIES (Winter is at the same level, but scarlet owns my heart)

    okay but seriously i’ve MISSED YOUR POSTS ARE YOU BACK FOR REAL???
    you lucky binch, getting the wicker king iM JEALOUS BUT ALSO HAPPY FOR YOU fdjlakfjlak im sO EXCITED FOR IT

    im shook at your snippets like HOW DO YOU WRITE SO WELL AND WHY ARENT YOU BLESSING US WITH MORE???
    sending you good vibes and lots of love and support to get through the stress (life sucks sometimes)

    Like

    1. I HAVEN’T READ WINTER YET im reaidng it rn but it’s due in my library today and im nowhere near finished.

      I THINK IM BACK FOR ONE WEEK and then im gonna disappear again if i’m being realistic OOPS.

      the wicked king is EVERYTHING it’ll be worth the wait YOU ARE GOING TO LOVE IT SM>

      jfhdhfgjdghf thank youuuuu you are too nice to me omg. sending you love and loads of hugs!!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. listen you read 3/5 books for the readathon and I read 1 and I was literally THE HOST. (also I laughed so much over the “Devouring Gary” I still cannot believe you actually typed that I’m CRYING FHSLDFHDALS)

    and I’m glad you’re requesting books you really want to read!! I was kinda doing the same thing except the thing that made me stop was that I was getting so stressed over ARCs (because I’m a MOOD READER) and I hated it. also I had like 4 arcs on netgalley and I’ve still literally only read 1, and the other 3 are overdue πŸ™‚

    also YOU READ SO MANY QUALITY BOOKS??? like gopaf?? wild beauty??? radio silence??? I stan

    anyways I love your insta writing updates and all your snippets of poetry :)))) I can’t wait for your writing post but I know I’ll be hearing more about it from you on Hangouts before then :))))) LOVE U :))))))))

    Like

    1. YOU READ ONE OMG HOW DID I NOT KNOW lmaoooo. No the worst part was the author replied to the story with the typo saying she hoped I enjoyed and I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO ASHAMED.

      also who is netgalley, IDK HER.

      I KNOW IM SO HAPPY IM READING AMAZING BOOKS.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.