i’m 17 and saying goodbye to blogging

Hey! So, I’ve been putting off writing this post for a long time but I think it’s time I finally sat down and wrote it. I don’t mean for this to be dramatic at all but..I’m quitting blogging! 

I don’t think this really is coming as a shock to like…anyone. I haven’t posted regularly in a long, long while now – and not because I haven’t had the time, but because I haven’t wanted to. I started my first blog around six years ago and I guess you could say I’ve outgrown it. The blogging community is nice, and the bookish side has been mostly pleasant, but I no longer find joy in blogging or reading other posts in my feed. To be frank, my readership has dropped significantly ever since I took this indefinite hiatus and so I’m sure there won’t be a lot of people to miss me (I doubt anyone will even read this haha)

I also just feel like my blog is some weird combination of my current personality and whatever weirdo I was at 14 and it makes for an awkward presentation of myself here. I also just don’t…read like I used to (like I read a lot less which I hope changes now I’m on summer holiday) I’ve been unsatisfied with my content for a long, long time and that’s because I think if I’m writing and putting out content into the world – I should be like, saying something. And of course, nothing’s original but I just feel like my posts were either incredibly boring or had already been done a million times before. Most of the time I feel like I was just writing for the sake of it? It explains why I always lost passion for posting consistently so easily. I feel like my blog has become this weird useless thing that I’m not happy with anymore. 

Everyone falls out of hobbies and interests and this is just something I’ve moved on from?  I hope this decision doesn’t really upset anyone – but I don’t really think it will. 

That being said, I don’t want to lose touch with any bookish friends i’ve made here!  I’m still reviewing books over on goodreads and being semi-active on twitter. Unfortunately, I’m no longer active on my bookstagram (and don’t think I will be again) so it’s just goodreads and twitter for now! 

I did consider making a seasonal newsletter that would be sent out 4 times a year (it would be just about books i’ve been reading, movies and shows I have been consuming, my new passions and obsessions, creative writing and just general life snippets) but I don’t know if I have enough energy to set that up properly right now. Who knows! Maybe in the future ❤

Honestly – thank you to anyone who’s ever commented, or liked my post. For every follower (I gained over 2000 – crazy!) and everyone who has read even just one post of mine, I’m super super thankful! For that, and  for the time I had here and the friends I made!!

This decision has been a long time coming and I feel happy that I’ve finally closed this chapter of my life. I decided to post this now because me turning 17 two weeks ago kinda flipped a switch in my brain kinda? I will be keeping all my posts up (though I have privated a few) just as a memory of a great time in my life 🙂

Alright, that was super corny but I’m going to end this post here – my last post!! 

This isn’t really goodbye but goodbye anyways ❤

ilsa

29 thoughts on “i’m 17 and saying goodbye to blogging”

  1. I’m sorry to see you go! Can I offer a suggestion? Don’t delete your blog. Just become inactive for now just in case you do change your mind! Just a thought though. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If this decision makes you happy, then go for it! What’s most important is that it’s the right decision for yourself. I wish you all the best! ❤

    Like

  3. Happy belated birthday! I’m going to miss seeing your post on my dash but if it makes you happy then go for it ❤ People do outgrow things- we're always changing after all- but at least you'll have the memories of your time here 🙂

    Like

  4. i’ll certainly miss reading your posts, but it seems like you’ve made the right choice & are simply moving on to more exciting and fulfilling parts of your life!! honestly, a newsletter sounds amazing, but i do hope you continue to pursue whatever makes your creative heart happy ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had a similar experience with a group I was hosting. It was a beautiful experience and at one point, it was extremely gratifying, but then it slowed down and came to a stop. Your post just makes me really realize that everything in life has a beginning and and end (including life itself!) and that that is 100% okay! I hope you find other passions to pursue! <33

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.