[LET’S WHISPER] Do you ever feel 100% satisfied with your blog?

There’s no escaping the fact that we coddle, nurture and murder sing to our blogs.

Basically, they are our children and we love them. Okay? That’s just how it works. They explode on us and our hearts (apparently other people have these) just go out to our precious little things which we put out sweat, tears and blood into. I don’t think we should even be ashamed of the fact. We love our blogs, they don’t love us back! Simple.

But sometimes…you see another blog or you post something or the world just explodes, and you have this feeling that your blog isn’t good enough. Or that you need to improve something and you just don’t feel good about your child! It happens to all of us, I think. MAYBE? Someone tell me I’m not along flailing over this topic whilst putting my cactus to sleep. That would be unfair.

So today’s topic is unfortunately not about my imaginary sleeping cactus, but the WHY you don’t feel satisfied and how to fix that. AHHAHAH more like a self-help tutorial but we’ll call it a discussion.

Long-Divider

Kindle #1

WHY ARE YOU FEELING LIKE YOUR BLOG IS A POTATO?

(because it is a potato. JUST KIDDING) But why are you feeling like this? Don’t you love your blog? Why do you feel so rubbish about your blog? Why is the world ending???? I actually have no idea but ice cream is good.

  • Feeling a little slumpish. This happens to me. You’re not happy with recent posts of yours and think you can never ever write a good post again. Your brain refuses to come up with ideas because you’ll tell yourself you’ll never be good at writing a post again.
  • Recent stats are low. Sometimes a post really doesn’t do well and you just want to cry and go sulk in your hobbit hole while drinking from a china tea cup. Low stats can really de-motivate you and you just feel a bit rubbish about your blog, in general.
  • Your design is getting old. As a little bit of a designer myself, I used to change my designs after 1 month of them settling them in. Sometimes you just look at your blog design and go ‘nope’ and shake your head.
  • The monster of jealousy is feeding off your soul. You know that feeling when you just see all these awesome blogs surrounding you and then you just see your blog and deflate like a balloon. Yeah, this is a little bit of blogger envy; comparing your blog to theirs and realising everyone else has such a better blog than you.
  • Realising you haven’t posted in ages. Whether it be you’re sick or on holiday or just have not been feeling up to blogging when you return to blogging you feel bad and unsatisfied with your blog. It happens. *sigh*

Long-Divider

Laptop #2

DEALING WITH IT

Do you ever feel like a lumpy potato, rolling through your sadness?  Um…sorry. You GOTTA DEAL WITH THIS OKAY??? You’re a firework. You are awesome. You got this. Here are some more convincing techniques.

  • Make yourself proud! Don’t like your blog, change it! CHANGE IT To match YOU not the blog’s you’ve been spying on. Make your blog something you’re proud of.
  • Why are you feeling like this? Maybe it’s not of the things I’ve said above, but really think…why am I feeling so unsatisfied with my blog? Is it your design? Is it because what you are posting…isn’t making you feel good? Then change it. YOU HAVE THE POWER TO DO THAT. Post what you would want to read, ask for some design help.
  • Read over old blog posts. OKAY GASP DIE. I know this is awkward but go back to the time when you WERE proud of your blog and see what was different. That could really help.
  • Take a break. Sometimes you just need to step back and recharge your batteries because you’re overwhelmed and as a result, your blog is suffering. Give it time. Nap, read some books.
  • Eat Ice cream! Any other food works. Mangoes, marshmallows, cake, chips. FOOD which is the cure for life. You can thank me later *sends ice cream*

Long-Divider

Laptop #1

Do you ever feel UNsatisfied with your blog?

What sparked this discussion idea is this; VERY recently I felt a little down about my blog. I’m not one to every day check my stats and obsess over them and just be crazy about how many comments i’m getting each post or constantly checking my follower count. But I do know when some posts do better than others by how many comments I’m replying to. I can check that myself.

My recent post In An Inkshell #1 got very little attention. It was a writerly update and I was so pumped to post and it was so much fun to compile but it didn’t work, i guess? For me this time, it was stats & comments. On my old blog, it was mostly the graphic design. And it really disheartened me when I put so much effort into a post for it then to only get a few comments.

So, to feel better about my blog, I wrote a discussion because they always get a lot of responses! I feel better when writing discussions because they’re so fun to write as well! Don’t let anything get you down about your blog, it’s amazing because you are amazing too! BE PROUD of your blog!

Let's Whisper

TIME TO DISCUSS; how do you put your cactus to sleep Do you ever feel unsatisfied with your blog? How do you deal with feeling like your blog is a potato? Are you feeling proud of your blog right now? YOU SHOULD BE. Tell me all about your site and what songs you sing to it!

Ilsa - Edited
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

85 thoughts on “[LET’S WHISPER] Do you ever feel 100% satisfied with your blog?”

  1. I think we all feel secretly unsatisfied with our blogs. There is nothing anyone can do to change the stats on the post that doesn’t do so well you just have to learn and develop from your mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To be honest, I think most people are somewhat unsatisfied with their blog or they at least wish they could improve it. I think that just comes with caring a lot about something and wanting it to be the best 🙂 It’s hard, but we can’t give up, no matter how much we think it’s not good enough.

    Like

  3. Urghhhh I get this allllll the time. For me, it’s when I see all these gorgeous blogs everywhere, and they have amazing posts, and they’re interacting with so many people, that I just feel my blog could be. . . better.
    I just don’t know what I’m doing with my posts that makes people not want to talk about what I’ve written? I spend so long on posts, editing things out,, changing things around, and poof it goes on the internet and not much happens. GAH

    *mehhmer self depreciating moment over*

    Liked by 1 person

      1. AWWWWWWWWW ILSA YOU SWEETIE ❤ ❤ *hugs over the large distance* AND MY DESIGN IS ONLY GOOD THANKS TO YOU!! I DID LIKE,, 0 WORK #I’mLazy.

        WAAA ONEDAY I WILL PASS OUT from sleep deprivation bc of blogging for 3 full nights in a row *dies*

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been feeling quite down and unmotivated about my blog lately and this post made me feel slightly better and less alone about that so thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AHh I relate to this so much. I spend THE LONGEST TIME being super down about how my blog looked, but I changed some things around and now I think I am happy with it which is amazing. I also get the annoyance when I am super excited for a post and then it doesn’t get much attention. I think there are often big differences between what posts I am interested in reading and what posts other people are interested in reading.

    It really annoys me how sometimes I feel like there are certain posts I am only writing for the views, ie in Top Ten Tuesdays I often feel like I am repeating the same old books every week but it’s such a good way to get more people to see your blog … I just hate that feeling when you’re writing a post and you think it sounds horrible and stupid and so similar to other posts you’ve written. Glad to hear other people feel like this too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY for being happy with your design! I KNOW sometimes I have such fun writing a post and I am a happy balloon and the n it gets like 4 comments and I deflate and cry AND OKAY A LITTLE DRAMATIC HERE.

      I stopped doing memes because they get repitive and boring for me. To be honest, don’t do posts if you’re JUST doing them for comments! Make sure you’re enjoying the posts you write.

      Like

  6. Honestly, I was feeling pretty great about my blog. Until I deleted all my featured images off WordPress, not knowing it’ll delete them off my posts as well….yep😭😭 So I’m in a bit of a ‘whyyyy’ mood at the moment!
    I do feel as if we all go through a period of being unsatisfied with our blog – it’s just natural! Maybe it’s because we all love and care for our blogs, and want it to be the best it can be so we’re hard on ourselves sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. *cue angelica schuyler singing* I WILL NEVER BE SATISFIED! lol i agree with everything in this post. it couldn’t be better well-said. especially as a new blogger, it’s impossible to be satisfied with your blog. i mean, i think i’ll be spending quite a while designing my own blog and meticulously planning/writing/editing several blog posts ahead of time before i actually post something. that’s just about how anxious and a bit of a perfectonist i am…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I feel unsatisfied pretty regularly to be honest. I think that will never change, no matter how pretty your design is and how good your stats are, because there will always be that one post that will do a little less than your other posts and that will get you down. Those are really good tips though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, I’m definitely never satisfied with my blog! It’s the reason why I change the design so much; because I never think my blog really looks pretty, but when I try to change the theme, nothing works out in my favor! I’m STILL trying to figure out if this is the theme for me, but, yeah, I go through spurts when I’m on top of the world regarding my blog and times where I just feel pretty meh about it, like this month! We’re all very critical of ourselves, which is why we probably criticize our blogs so much.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I feel unsatisfied sometimes when I see other people’s blogs and think wow, I wish I could do that with mine. I’ve spent countless times staring at my blog page looking for ways to improve it but it seems that when I try to spruce it up a bit it just ends up looking a bit too much and therefore worse! Great post .xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This was such a relatable post – I feel like I often get upset over stats when I should just be writing for me and sometimes I don’t know what to weote, but that’s okay and I just have to recognize that it’s part of the process. Xx
    adventuringirlblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I definitely think we ALL feel unsatisfied sometimes! I tend to get jealous when I see blogs with really beautiful formatting or just a nice aesthetic and I’m like “WHY I WANT THAT”.😂 And then I remember that I do like what I’m doing and it’s me and go back to enjoying my blog haha. I also sooo relate to the pain of putting a lot of work into a post and then it getting LIKE SUCH LITTLE RESPONSE. *sighs* The internet is fickle tbh. But as long as we’re working towards what we want to achieve with blogging and having fun, I think we’re doing okay. 😉 Also ice cream fixes everything obviously.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Paper Fury? JEALOUS? I’m pretty sure every book blogger in existence is jealous of your blog. I KNOW. Sometimes I put such work in for reviews and I get one comment and I SIGH OKAY? BUT…I try and have fun too! Stats aren’t everything!

      Like

  13. I am not unsatisfied yet because I have just started posting 😛 But I do know being envious of other people’s blog OMG. They have such beautiful design (including AWOI) and I keep thinking that I need to do some more but then I just get lazy ☺️At the end of the day, I love my blog and I am always thinking of ways to make it better.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m glad to see that other people feels this way. I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately which has lead to a blog slump! I think that this is reflected in my blog posts lately as well and it has been frustrating. Maybe I will take your advice and write a discussion post to get me motivated again! Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I arrived on wordpress in August and since I know how much I always struggled with geting people interested on my blog… well, for now I’m at peace. Twelwe followers are a lot more then what I excpeted so far.
    My main concern is the graphic one. Right now I use a free wordpress theme. Sometimes I watch it, and… is it too simple? Is it too white and minimal? What if people don’t find it interesing because of this? But at the same time I don’t like confusion or too many widgtes, too much great images, so I stick to the simple attire

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’m sort of feeling unsatisfied with my blog right now, because I haven’t been posting as frequently as I would like. Partly because I’m away right now, but mostly because I have no ideas.
    Also I have a terrible design… I need to work on that, but I’m really not very good at that sort of stuff. (Mostly the technology part of it) I guess I need to get my dad’s help, but he’s not here right now… ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I totally agree with you! Especially when I see other blogs and mine really compares, I feel really low. Thanks for your advice in overcoming the slump, they’re really helpful! (like, eating ice cream always works.) By the way, I really LOVE your new blog! xx

    Like

  18. To answer your question here…I am NEVER 100% satisfied with my blog. I’m actually happy when I’m like, 50% satisfied. I’m a perfectionist and it’s a nightmare. And I’ve been blogging for three years, so you can imagine the constant struggle I am in 😂😂
    I guess we all go through these feelings, after blogging for a while or just for a couple days or months – best thing to do is to remind ourselves why we love blogging, and your advice here is perfect: take a step back , read old blog posts we loved writing, figure out where that un-satisfied feeling is coming from. In the end, we all should remember why we love blogging and take steps towards making our blog as FABULOUS as we are, because we all are 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  19. This is a wonderful discussion post, and something I think most bloggers struggle with every once in a while (if not constantly, us poor souls). I’ve been blogging for almost 3 years now, and I’ve had to change my blog constantly to feel satisfied. Months would pass by without me posting anything because I felt there was too much pressure. Then, I started self-hosting, spent DAYS on the design to reach a place I liked it, and now, it’s not a big deal if I don’t post for a while anymore because I like where my blog stands even if it’s static. Getting to a good place with your blog and remembering that it’s okay to spend time on other life stuff is really really important. Your tips are super helpful. 🙂

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKS AIMAL!!! Your blog is FANTASTIC! I’m pretty satisfied with my blog most of the time but sometimes I feel down? I definitely want to look into self-hosting bt it sounds super stressful! AND YES, I think we should totally be okay with havig lives OUTSIDE of blogging.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I like the look of my blog for the most part. Changing up the design generally makes me the happiest. What makes me feel crummy about it is like you said here – feeling like I can never write a good post again and my stats being low. It’s very discouraging and there are times when I just wanna crawl under a rock AND DIE! Ok maybe not that extreme, but you get my point lol!

    Good post! It’s a nice reminder to not let those crummy thoughts consume your love for blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Thank you for the ice cream!!
    I’m sure that everyone at a point and time feels dissatisfied with their blog, but you can’t tell at people and make them read it.
    The only thing that you can do is keep your positivity level up, and work hard for the post to get numbers. And along the way, you just have to learn from the mistakes, because they’ll help you improve.
    Great discussion, very relatable to all. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  22. yes! this perfectly sums up how i feel about my blog sometimes! as a super perfectionist, i am never completely satisfied with my blog, particularly my blog name. i’m still having second thoughts about my name even now…also it sucks to feel like your blog is stagnant isn’t growing at all, especially when you work so hard on it. mostly though, i think you just have to figure out why you started blogging in the first place and keep going for this reason!

    loved reading this post ilsa!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I have an awesome group of people who visit my blog regularly, but I do not see any real growth. Sometimes, it makes me sad, because these blogs will be celebrating 1000+ subscribers and they are like 3 months old, while I have been around for years, but I enjoy the interactions I have and I like having some place besides GoodReads to talk about books.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Oh god, I SO agree! There are just some times where I think “oh I wish I could be like THAT blog/blogger” or “UGH THIS POST SUCKS” or “I thought this post was good so why didn’t it get lots of comments???” And I just feel like AGH my blog could be better.

    I think that no one can be 100% satisfied with their blog??? Because they’ll likely have that ONE little nagging voice in the back of their head that tells them, “Something can be fixed.” And it SUUUUUCKS. But it’s something we have to get used to, because it’s not going away! It’s that voice that motivates us to improve — we just have to make sure it doesn’t drag us down!

    ALSO I LIKE HOW YOU SAID MANGOES FIRST IN THAT LIST OF FOOD (besides ice cream).

    P.S. Don’t feel bad about the In an Inkshell post!! I really loved it (AND STILL NEED TO COMMENT AJDFL;AJSDFLA), but I think writing updates are one of the least popular posts… unless you like build up all this suspense about your novel and then you’re FINALLY revealing details about it, idk. XD But if you like writing the post, WRITE THE POST AND POST IT! Don’t do things for the stats. *side-eyes self*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU DEAR MANGO QUEEN. I definitely feel down about some of my blog posts #sadfaceforever. BUT Your posts are just fabulous. I definitely agree there’s always room for improvement but sometimes I actually do feel 100% satsified with my blog?

      P.S YOU DON’T NEED TO COMMEnt MAY. I REALLY ENJOYED WRITING THAT POST SO I GUESS THAT COUNTS?!

      Liked by 1 person

  25. I ALWAYS FEEL LIKE MY BLOG IS A POTATO.

    one of your points was talking about how you feel when you haven’t posted in forever and ##same.

    (I used two hashtags. The same-ness is just that real.)

    MY BLOG IS SO UNSATISFACTORY I CAN’T EVEN! Like, I like my format of the post icons also MY DAMN HEADER and *screams*

    (Also I missed your posts ❤ I'm sorry I didn't comment on them. I'm BINGING NOW.)

    Liked by 1 person

  26. I’ve been struggling with the design of my blog a lot, especially since I just started, and I’m pretty sure that I’m like half of my views. Also there are a bunch of other things I’m struggling with on my blog, so this post was super interesting for me. Also, I loved In An Inkshell.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I’m sort of unsatisfied with my blog’s existence right now. I can’t get it to look professional, and I don’t really have the time or priority to redesign. I am taking a journalism tools class, which is basically a wordpress/ blog news class, so I hope to learn new tricks. My real problem is I don’t really do substantial stuff, like this post, to make one think, just lists and reviews. How? How do you think of thought-provoking posts?

    Liked by 1 person

  28. ummMMMm, girl, I feel personally offended, why would you ever feel dissatisfied with your blog it’s amaZING and it makes me cry with its cuteness?? SERIOUSLY THOUGh it’s amazing just thought I should let you know

    but okay, in all seriousness, I understand you completely!! ❤ we're our harshest critics, after all, it'll probably be *impossible* to become completely satisfied with everything. I know everyone says stats aren't important, but it's also hard to ignore them completely. the best thing we can do is to just remind ourselves that we're trying our best, pat ourselves on the back, and give ourselves a bowl of ice cream because WE ALL DESERVE IT. (also, I can totally relate to feeling like my blog designs are poop, my reviews are poop, EVERYTHING IS POOP so you're not alone)

    also, I put my cactus to sleep by gently humming a beautiful rendition of the Murder Squash Song

    Liked by 1 person

  29. I’ve definitely felt ‘meh’ about my blog a couple of times in the past few months and what usually helped me, was doing a bit of change. Whether I tweaked the theme a little bit (or changed it entirely) or switch up the formatting of my posts – just some visual changes will usually do the trick for me. But most recently, I finally decided to take a step back because I felt like I HAD to write and post and I never wanted blogging to feel that way and so I went on a little hiatus.

    This was a really great discussion, Ilsa! Lots of great tips that I’ll have to make sure to remember in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Someeetimes I feel unsatisfied because it looks so…plain?? Idk it’s silly 😂. I just think that it’s the easiest theme to use for readers and that kind of makes it ok. I also don’t know what I’m doing so when I discover something I facepalm at older posts when I could have used it 😂.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I’m with you! I actually only check my stats when I’m emailing a publisher, but comments are what really get me! I think they’re more important than any other blog related number, so it’s hard when a post just kind of flops and doesn’t get many (or any!)
    I think one good thing that works for me is to blog for myself. I mean, yeah, I do interact and try to be as friendly and outgoing as possible, but ultimately my blog is for me because it makes me happy! That sounds kind of selfish, but there you go xD.
    Awesome discussion! I love all your points.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. I have to be honest , I redesigned my blog yesterday because I felt it was too simple and plain and I got intimidated after reading a few glamorous posts. I do hope it is better now, plus blogging is fun and I do learn new things everyday👑😄

    Liked by 1 person

  33. This post is so completely wonderful! 🙂 As a perfectionist, its natural for me to always want to improve my blog and be slightly dissatisfied with whatever I do. However, it’s when I start to compare my blog to others when things get bad.

    I’m guilty of comparison all the time. This post has really helped put me back in a healthier mindset. Thank you very much!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  34. I didn’t begin feeling better about my blog until I began showing more of my personality in my blogs rather than appearing quite flat if I could describe it as that. I feel like now you can just read a post and sort of gauge my characteristics and find something to engage over as opposed to before where I’d just post something but it lacked to connect to me and the reader I really don’t know how to explain it I hope you got the gist…I LOVED THIS POST it’s the first I’ve come across and also have I mentioned before how I love your bullet point structures! I admire a lot of blog designs and blogger’s voices but I’ve managed to be content with my blog because I blog for me and sure I have moments where I feel like Kiya your blog isn’t much, it’s just a load of garbage but then I remind myself don’t you dare delete your baby it’s just your negativity speaking but in all honesty I’m proud of my blog (although embarrassed to share it with people I know aside from a few) and it’s become a part of my identity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

