IN AN INKSHELL #1 // Strange Spellings, Sharing Scary Snippets & Sandwiches.

Can we just Appreciate the Amazing Alliteration up there?

Thanks! AND OF COURSE, I AM A WRITER. I write. Like um..words and stuff. And i like stationery. So there. MY TWITTER BIO is words. See proof. So hello, i’m starting a mini writing series called ‘IN AND INKSHELL’ which is basically a writerly update thing. Smol shootout to May @ Forever and Everly because she is an amazing bean and gave me the inspiration (and permission) to do this little series!MOVING ON..

MOVING ON...Ink and Inkshell   IN AN INKSHELL is where I tell you all about my fantastic writerly projects and discuss how writing is killing me. i also flail around like a penguin and eat ice cream but i always do that, to be honest. Whilst i write this post, i intend for you to enjoy all my writely evil plans and be minions because I’m taking over the world. I mean I’ve already conquered the land of ice cream, so this is no biggie. But people are stubborn bunnies and don’t accept me as queen? What is this life?

Anyways I’m getting off-track here (choo choo)  I’ve been doing lots of writerly things and I thought I’d tell you about them. The only negative thing that is coming out of this is that you will be bored I have fewer things to talk about in my monthly recap which is quite sad because I like smashing and squeezing and OKAY making everything a sandwich

 

Long-Divider

Stationery #1.JPG

A COLLABORATIVE BOOK

Okay so you’ve seen me talking about this quite a bit but I haven’t fully given you the details. If you haven’t guessed, I’m writing a book with Sasha @ The Stylish Dreamer! *hands out ice cream *signs your autographs* *poses for camera* I KNOW. It is literally so exciting!

It’s a sci-fi and fantasy smushed with a few stabby stars and death. Sounds awesome right? Now I don’t want to give too much away because Sasha and I are still working on a few tidbits so I don’t want to giveaway false information. It’d be like saying I have free ice cream and then just giving you a chocolate bar instead. But that would actually be okay. So I’ll just write a quick list of what we’re planning so far and what we’ve  I’ve done!

  • We have a brief outline! Y.A.Y! It’s very very brief. It barely scrapes 1k and that’s including the character profiles. Basically, it is NOT an outline but just a sketch what is going to happen in the story. I want the actual outline to be about 6k words. This might seem very little to you but…I’ve never had experience with an outline before! And I don’t want to get into the nitty gritty details of everything the character is going to say and do and whats happening in the background and how they fiddle with their thumbs. I just want to know what the heck I’m doing with this.
  • It’s about a girl who can’t feel. But she likes the stars. It seems a little cliche to me because who doesn’t love the stars? But that’s her only emotion and it’s a secret and she hates that likes the stars because she likes killing and being a weapon.
  • There are other human weapons like her named after the alphabet. So 26 to be exact. Her name is ‘Jay’ what letter could that be based on I wonder?
  • We’re throwing the idea of calling it ‘A Million Stars To Breathe’ and other ideas for character names. It’s not decided yet so we’ll see I guess.
  • I’ve written 3k words. Even though we haven’t even finished planning or started properly outlining, I went ahead and wrote a bit of the beginning to get a feel of the story.

Short-Divider

SNIPPETS 

CAKE

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 14.02.30

 

He likes the sky

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.37.28She likes the stars

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.55.42

Short-Divider

Okay, so that got a little bit long! But that’s what Sasha and I have been up to. Sahsa is an amazing writer partner and we’ve been having so much fun! (even though she’s been busy with school but shh…)

Long-Divider

writing journal #1.JPG

And I have a plot bunny!!!

A few weeks ago this plot bunny just invaded my mind and I just LOVE IT. It’s a mix of They Both Die At The End and The Giver. I actually haven’t read either of these but I’ve watched The Giver movie and read enough reviews I basically have read the former oooh posh. shut up me And it just came to me and I really like it! But have no idea if i should continue with it??? BECAUSE IT’s SO UNORIGINAL yet I have really nice tweaks I’m adding and I JUST WANT TO WRITE. Like I had a dream the other day I had finished half of this book and I CAN’T DESCRIBE THIS AMAZING FEELING TO YOU. And now I just want to write it.

It’s dystopian mixed with contemporary with a little bit of sci-fi and okay, I need to nap now.

QUICK FACTS

  • I have no idea what to call it. HALP.
  • I’ve written like some scenes of it randomly and it’s super fun
  • I’ve got character profiles and we have smol precious characters and one of them reminds me of Jesper from Six Of Crows.
  • I suck at writing romance
  • I JUST WANT TO WRITE THIS BOOK and skip all the planning stuff, you know?
  • it’s about people who are after lives are chosen
  • their death dates are scheduled
  • okay i got nothing bye

writing journal #2.JPG

MY PRECIOUS CHARACTERS

  • Fred who is this smol bean who likes solving mysteries and is really nice. He got abused when he was younger and now just wants to help everyone out and PLEASE EVERYONE around him.
  • Kayt who spells her name weirdly who is a little like Lila from ADSOM but way different. She likes adventure and killing and stabby and she is better than all boys in existence. kthanxbye
  • Jantern who is a lantern and reminds me of Jesper for some reason? they’re not even that similar. He likes to read and he’s this little honest bean who is scared of getting attached to people and making promises. NOTHING LIKE JESPER? WUT.
  • Dice (who’s making these names???)  who is like this loud bubbly guy who does not like waiting and plans. basically, he likes jokes and getting things done and stuff school.

And look I know these are weird names but I NAMED MY CHARACTERS OKAY *looms over you* *realises I am short*. OKAY???? I don’t care that Kayt’s name is spelt weirdly.

Short-Divider

SNIPPETS FROM WIP

KAYT BEING AMAZING

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.32.19

OOOH JANTERN HAS SECRET

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.33.10

Long-Divider

Stationery #2.JPG

SANDWICH OF OTHER EXCITING STUFF

I’m participating in the Scribbler’s Challenge. It’s hosted by May @ Forever and Everly (LOOK AT ALL THIS MAY APPRECIATION!!!!!!!!! HER BLOG IS FABULOUS. SHE IS MANGO QUEEN.) and it’s so much fun! It’s like this cool feedback thingy and I am in love with it. I’m partnered up with Jasmine (who is also fabulous) and we are giving feedback and responding to these FUN and AMAZING prompts and all the flailing! I really like the prompts but I suck at writing!

The snippets are NOT SCARY but I am scared of sharing the snippets? UNDERSTAND? No, okay go eat some ice cream. It will help your brain.

Short-Divider

SNIPPETS FROM SCRIBBLER RESPONSES

GHOSTS & SELF ACCEPTANCE

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.32.40

CAR CRASHES

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.38.41

DESCRIPTIVE STUFFScreenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.40.09

Short-Divider

I finished a writing journal. I have multiple journals

  • my diary journal (thoughts, feelings, what is happening in my boring life, ruling a kingdom)
  • my bullet journal (which is currently dead. R.I.P)
  • and my writing journal –>

where I write for FUN and before bed I write random poems and weird snippets of weird things and it’s just a collection of my RANDOM writing thoughts. I finished it because I wrote so much and now I have to use one of my precious notebooks  *cries* So, yeah ACHIEVEMENT.

Short-Divider

SNIPPETS FROM WRITING JOURNAL

Yes, I had to type these up because my journal is on paper. This was long. Ugh. Some of my writing stuff is personal so I couldn’t share it. *wipes tears*

POOR NIGHTMARES

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.46.45

SHADOW TEAScreenshot 2017-08-20 at 13.35.37

MIND PRISONS #genius

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 14.19.49

REBELS

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 14.23.52

Yeah idk what is up with that ugly font. okay. don’t ask.

Let's Whisper

Do you like sandwiches? What did you think of my snippets? Are you appreciating May and Alliteration?Do you ever just want to skip planning and just WRITE? What plot bunnies are you working on? Tell me about your writerly life!

Ilsa - Edited

44 thoughts on “IN AN INKSHELL #1 // Strange Spellings, Sharing Scary Snippets & Sandwiches.”

  1. The first book of my series wasn’t planned at all but the second and the third are. Too many stuff. At the same time it’s also a wip because right now I’m studying the zodiac of my fantasy world. Also because one of my characters is a star-witch …. kind off. I need to work on the concept -.-

    And I have plot bunnies… like 39 of them but I cannot work on different projects at the same time. I’m slowly making one of them more complex, nearly similar to an outline

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually like the way you spell Kayt. I think it’s cool. 🙂 And your snippets are so good! The ones from your journal kinda make me want to cry. :’)
    And UGH YES I WISH I COULD WRITE ANYTHING I WANT AND HAVE IT BE PERFECT THE FIRST TIME. D: But the problem is, I actually like planning, I think it’s fun. But I tend to spend TOO much time planning and not actually writing because no matter how much I plan, I end up staring at a blank screen and I have NO IDEA what I’m doing so that kinda takes some of the fun out of writing sometimes. 😦
    And I have TOO MANY PLOT BUNNIES UGH. One is I’m trying to world build a fantasy series but I have NO IDEA what I’m doing cuz I haven’t read that many fantasy books and my Pinterest board has literally HUNDREDS of pics and I don’t NEED any more but I CAN’T STOP PINNING and it’s SO overwhelming and ahhhhhhhh. D: HELP.
    And I’m about to start reading Snow Like Ashes because I think it will help give me a lot of inspiration but it’s SO HYPED and I have a feeling I’ll love it but what if I read it TOO fast and then I’ll want the rest of the series and I’ll finish it too fast and it’ll be gone and what if I love it TOO MUCH and I’ll end up hating every book I read after???? Ughhhh….yeah……I have problems. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AGH DON’T CRY YOU SWEET PANCAKE. I think Kayt is as cool as her name.

      I KNOW. People write ‘messy first drafts’ but I just keep on editing the small bits I’ve written??? I LIKE PLANNING TOO but sometimes I get really excited about an idea and want to write. Usually, I like being all organised and spend all my time on planning.
      Plot bunnies will murder us hahah XD PINTEREST IS SO ADDICTING, I SWEAR. Though I’ve just started out so it’s all very clean at the moment. (what’s your pinterest? May I ask because I’ve just started an account and want to follow more people)

      Like

  3. “I JUST WANT TO WRITE THIS BOOK and skip all the planning stuff, you know?” <– OHMYGOD this is me with everything. Can't I just get everything done, but, you know, skip the "stressful working" part?? *endless tears*

    also I can relate to the bullet journal thing… I remember when I first started it, I passionately told myself "WOW HANNAH YOU'RE GOING TO WRITE IN IT EVERYDAY IT'S GOING TO BE A MASTERPIECE" and now it just sort of sits forlornly at the bottom of my drawers, gathering dust :'))

    I love the lil plot bunny you shared; I think you should definitely move forward with it!! PLUS the concept for your collaborative book is so cool, like what the heck?? I would 10/10 pay money to read it.

    I always read people's snippets and get mildly jealous because I literally could never write like that :') Seriously, though, keep up the amazing work!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES. Why is writing so stressful? Just want to skip to all the yummy amazing bits! And tears are so much effort tbh XD

      AGH WE’RE BUJO TWINS! I had so much drive when I began and now I’m having my second funeral for it *sobs* Though mine now sits with my other pristine notebooks I’ve never touched.

      OMG that means everything to me! I just come up with these ideas and people like them?? *flails* And i’m sure your writing is amazing and you are to ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so true, crying is so much work ); everything is so much work ))));

        I try to motivate myself by looking at all the other perfect bullet journals people post but instead of inspiring me, it makes me sad because I’m such a lazy lil marshmallow. *more tears*

        And seriously, though!! Hope you post more of these writerly updates soon ❤

        Like

  4. Actually, I never plan. I have never written an outline. I don’t even know HOW. I just start writing random scenes (usually out of order because I am the all powerful author who exists outside of time), figuring out who in the world these people are and what kind of sandwiches they like and all the dark secrets of their past. And plot? Sheesh. I’ll figure it out as I go, right? ….Right?!
    This may be part of the reason I hardly ever finish anything. But I’m getting better at it!!
    Your current WIPs sound awesome! I love the idea of there being 26 kids all named after letters on the alphabet. I don’t know why, but it excites me. And why are scheduled death dates so fun?!?!
    Also, I LOVE the writing journal excerpt about putting your nightmares to sleep. So, so amazing. Beautiful.

    Like

    1. I have never written an outline before! I normally just WRITE WRITE WRITER but I realised I do want to write an actual book so planning is kind of needed for me. I’m a bit new to all this ‘outlining’ and ‘potting’ and ‘character profiles’ bit to writing. But finding what sandwiches your characters like IS KEY. The characters are not complete without this. AGH THANKS! Everything is so exciting! I KNOW SCHEDULED DEATH DATES ARE JUST OMG I LOVE THIS IDEA *Flails*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. HUZZAH FOR SANDWICHES. I love sandwiches. I don’t even know why.
    I love all of your snippets! Thanks for sharing them with the wide blogging world. I love how some of your characters are beans. I have bean characters also. I love Fred already and I barely know two things about him. How is this possible?
    Plan??? (What is this word, precious?) I mean…. ahem. I don’t plan. Um, really ever. At all. That is not strictly true, but…it is basically true. I write whatever is in my mind and if I don’t write it down it is gone the next moment. Plotting is… not really my strength.
    Good luck with your books and such writing things!

    Like

    1. Sand witches or Sandwiches? THAT IS THE REAL QUESTION HERE.
      EEP, you’re so NICE! Bean characters are just100% goody goodness. FRED IS SO BEANY. We all love Fred ❤ I'm new to planning too, to be honest! I'm normally just WRITING whatever but I really want to finish and actual book so a plan is needed.
      Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. AYE I LOVE YOUR SNIPPETS YOU’RE SO GOOD AT WRITING???
    Your book with Sasha also sounds amazing!!!!! I would pay actual money to read it. (But not toooo much. I’m still broke. ;-;)
    I have this weird plot bunny in my head about another dimension that has magic but they think that humans are really cool and want to be like them – and so they use their magical abilities to sneak into our dimension and steal our ideas it’s kinda dumb lol xD

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WHY. WHY IS THIS SO AMAZING. Literally. This makes me feel like I need to be doing something with my life.

    I WISH I COULD WRITE. But I start something and NEVER FINISH.
    This sounds amazing ❤

    Like

  8. I love your collaborative book idea so, so much – I’m hoping to read more snippets and hear more about it all as you go, it sounds FANTASTIC, really. I love it.
    I so get the feeling of just wanting to write the book, planning everything ahead sometimes makes me a bit crazy because I just want the story to unfold, but at the same time… it’s good to know where we want to go, right?
    Best of luck for your writing! 🙂

    Like

  9. STARS ARE GREAT!! And so are sandwiches obviously. This story sounds amazinggggg and omg I loved your snippets and I’m also CRAVING FOOD. Like cake. 😭😍 Oh and Kayt is so totally cool!! My writerly life is nonexistent haha which is why I live through yours (or these snippets I guess which WERE SO GREAT did I mention that??) Does this comment even make any sense?? 😂 I need sleep. Fred sounds SO precious, I love all your characters already ahah. ❤ This was such a great post!!

    Like

  10. Haha this was a fun and funny read! XD And Ah I love sandwiches, I loved your snippets, I love alliteration and YES. I do want to skip all the planning and write sometimes. But other times I want to make this perfect plan so that I can write, but it never works out because I’m lazy most of the time. XD

    And WOW your characters sound awesome! I’ve been such a BAD writer. I seriously never write. I have NO motivation to write stories. I have no ideas!!! I have like 5 novels I have to finish… 😛 Your ideas sound really cool! Awesome post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

