10 Blogging Moments when you want to be swallowed by infinite darkness

Why do we always ignore the awkward side of blogging?

I honestly wonder.  I mean why WOULDN’T you want to talk about all the embarrassing moments in your blogging career? Who cares about it being stressful and fun, I’M ALL FOR THE #awkward. I’m going to reveal those moments where us bloggers want everything to swallow us whole, on the spot so that we do not have to experience the torture.

Short-Divider

Today I’m going to be talking about ALL THE AWKWARD! Well as many points as I could think of. There are some horrific examples of the AWKWARD so be prepared. And I honestly cannot spell AWKWARD. Which is very…AWKWARD.

Long-Divider

1. Talking about your blog IN. REAL. LIFE

Let’s stress on the IN REAL LIFE part of that point because it’s so scary. Whenever my family talk about my blog, I turn into this very quiet penguin who does not know English. Like when I got 1000 followers and my family were more excited than me. It went a bit like this.

Sister: Oh yeah! How many followers you got now??
Me: Um…nearly 1000, i think *has mini heart attack*
Sister: OMG EVERYONE –> SHE GOT 1000!
Me: [WISHES I HAD NEVER SAID ANYTHING]
Family: OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME *internally screams*
Me: …help…

But that’s not even the worst part. My family KNOWS about my blog, but then there are people (like friends) who DO NOT know about this little site of mine and well…IT CAN GET BLOODY.

Me: *talks to friend*
Someone: HEYYYY YOU KNOW SHE GOT A BLOG
Me: Have we got any knives around?

Let’s just say talking about your blog with real so-called humans is SCARY. I like to keep my blog ONLINE and nowhere else.

Long-Divider

2. Reading back on old posts

So this might be partly the reason I deleted all the posts on my old blog but I promise you if you’ve been blogging for a while like over 6 months and look at your first posts, YOU MIGHT DIE INSIDE. It’s traumatising, honestly. Right now with this new blog, my posts don’t seem cringy at all but if it’s your first time blogging and you check back, you ask yourself some questions.

  • Did you even know how to write?
  • what was up with your post ideas?
  • DID YOU UNDERSTAND FEATURED IMAGES?
  • What is grammar?
  • was. i. okay.

It’s also a perfect time to have mid-life blog crisis because that’s always fun.

Long-Divider3. Receiving compliments

At first, some potatoes will be confused. But let me explain. No matter how long you blog for, you will never get used to compliments. THEY’RE NICE AND WONDERFUL and I absolutely love them but it’s more like a hate/love relationship, to be perfectly honest. BECAUSE WHAT ARE WORDS? What do I say? Are there other words for ‘THANK YOU’ because that’s literally all i say? Compliments are so hard!! Like giving compliments are super easy because most bloggers are awesome but when this happens..

Follower: HEY I love your blog, it’s so awesome
Me: OMG THANK YOU ❤
Follower: And I love the way you write
ME: gosh, wow, that means so much to me
Follower: Oh, and did I mention everything is so pretty
ME: AGh, you’re so sweet
Follower: But I feel like your personality is the best
Me: OMG THANK YOU ❤
Follower: didn’t you just say that?
Me: *runs*

Luckily the last part DOES NOT ACTUALLY HAPPEN but the words are left hanging people. We all know that my THANK YOU’s get repetitive after a while. Even the comment stalkers see a regular pattern.

 

Long-Divider4. Talking to famous bloggers/ authors

This IS SO INSANELY SCARY. So i rarely get a chance to talk PERSONALLY to an amazing popular blogger (Cait @ Paper Fury) though sometimes I do (May @ Forever and Everly). But what is even RARER is talking to famous AUTHORS (AHEM Leigh Bardugo)

Yet I have done both of these things and let me tell you IT’S FRIGHTENING. I once interviewed Cait @ Paper Fury (you will see this soon!!!) and when I talked to her on twitter I kind of died inside and for her, I’m sure it was something normal but for me, I FOUND IT SO AWKWARD AND INTIMIDATING, and I just flailed along with my keyboard.

Same happened when something really awkward happened with Leigh Bardugo. So I @ her in one of my tweets AND IT WAS SUCH AN EMBARRASSING TWEET, I tell you. i talked about being an over-excited Penguin *face palm* Talk about awkward. Though I’m like insanely happy she replied and fangirled for a bit.

Screenshot 2017-07-23 at 16.19.29.png

What can I say? I’m just a generally awkward book worm.

Long-Divider5. Promoting your blog/self

Self-promotion IS THE WORST thing to have ever happened! Sometimes it’s just plain necessary, like for my Typewriter Project because I wanted everyone to participate and even though you WANT to spread the word, it’s so awkward because you’re just doing it for yourself and it’s just like ‘HEY LOOK AT ME. I ATTENTION SEEK’ and honestly hate doing it. Some people can pull it off surprisingly well? I wish someone else could promotion for me, it would make it so much easier? Like then it wouldn’t be like this:

Me: Yeah, Ice-cream is great!
Commenter: I KNOW RIGHT!!!
Me: Your favourite flavour?
Commenter: choco-
Me: BY THE WAY, CHECK OUT MY BLOG
Commenter: late
Me: [DIES]

Long-Divider6. Being late on comments

I swear, this happens TO ME SO MUCH, it’s unfair. I read a comment in my notifications and I’m like’yeah, I’ll reply later’ and then 1234567890 years pass and I’m like ‘OH YES that comment’ and reply. It’s so awkward because if they reply to you after that, they’ve seen how late you are and then you just have a mini heart-attack inside because you couldn’t exactly LEAVE that comment but be replying to it is just as bad. MORAL DILEMMAS HERE. SEND HELP.

Long-Divider7. Being late to the hype

Let’s get one fact here: Being late is awkward. Being late for a guest post deadline or something you promised to do.The book hype is NO EXCEPTION. Everyone is RAVING about a book and then 5 months later, I’ll FINALLY read it and add my review and everyone will be raving over a NEW release and I’ll just sit here eating my ice cream. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Long-Divider8.  Getting mixed up with bloggers

Let’s be real, THERE ARE A LOT OF BLOGGERS in this blogosphere. You have to remember which Sophia is which (I have never even heard of a Sophia. NOT THE POINT) but anyways, the other day. I confused InsideMyMind and InsideMyLibraryMind and she commented saying so AND IT WAS VERY AWKWARD, well at least for me. It was all because of the similar names and the BASICALLY SAME PROFILE PICTURE. Luckily, Library changed her profile picture so IT’S ALL GOOD! So anyways make sure your profile picture is unique people and your name XD

Oh and let’s not get me talking about getting mixed up with character names in reviews!

Long-Divider9. Publishing a post early.

Honestly, WP is actually really annoying some times. BUT THEN SOMETIMES I’m ANNOYING and well I click the publish button by accident and It’s all haywire.

Me: *publishes posts*
Twiter: *updates*
Blog: *updates*
Me: OH NO *reverts to draft*
Twitter: 53786783 notifications that say ‘WHERE HAS YOUR POST GONE?’
Blog: explodes
Life: explodes
Me: explodes

Basically, I did this when announcing my Typewriter project. I forgot to add the link to the google form AND IT WAS CHAOTIC. It’s downright awkward when someone asked ‘HEYY where did that post go’ and you just have to answer that as calm as possible. And don’t even get me STARTED on scheduling posts and then it fails.

Long-Divider10. SAYING ‘NO’

Omigosh well this is SOO SCARY. Chances are, as a blogger, someone will ask you a favour and usually, you can say ‘YES I’D LOVE TO’ like when people say ‘can you check out my blog?’ but then there are other times when you have to say ‘Well, no.’ like straight up NO I cannot. AND IT IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE.  This happened to me once and I’m still recovering

Person: Can we swap buttons?
Me: [*sweats* i don’t even know their blog?]
Person: PLEASEEE
Me: [AND I DON’T BUTTON SWAP]
Person: well?
Me: um..sorry, i don’t really button swap.
Me: [RUNS]

That’s pretty much how it went and basically, I am scarred for life.

Let's Whisper

What are some of you awkward blogging moments? Have you ever been swallowed by infinite darkness? Have you ever had to experience some of these? Can you add to my list? Do you know why we never talk about the awkward sides of blogging? How do you reply to compliments or handle talking about your blog in real life! TEACH ME YOUR WAYS.

Ilsa - Edited

110 thoughts on “10 Blogging Moments when you want to be swallowed by infinite darkness”

  1. DARKNESS SWALLOW ME YES. Okay that sounded way too odd. Let me rephrase that: awkward blogging moments galore!! I avoid reading my old posts LIKE THE PLAGUE. Omg. I always feel so awkward especially when someone comments on an especially old post, like a review from when I started blogging, because THOSE WERE HORRIFYING. Omg.
    Oh and being late on comments, yes!! I feel so awkwardddd, because I don’t want to leave the comment unanswered, but then it’s been so longggg and GAH. The strugglessss. 😭 This was so relatable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t worry Analee Darkness is hungry and will swallow you hole. Well…hopefully. JUST KIDDING, it will resuce you from awkward happenings. OH NO, that happens? that’s worse that reading over your old posts. EEK. I’m literally replying to all my comments now *hides*

      Like

  2. Me quietly scrolling back through your blog because I’m not up to date AT ALL. I think because I’m not at the same stage as you with my blog I haven’t experienced some of these things, but I believe them all. I think it especially difficult with self-promoting. As someone who is naturally a shy awkward little duck I cannot even talk about my blog properly over the internet to someone without feeling like I’m pushing it onto them let alone talk about it in person. I mean what if they’re not interested??!?! It’s totally cool if it’s not they’re thing its just embarrassing for me when it’s not.
    With replying to comments… there’s only so many ways to reply to a comment especially if you start to hear the same thing over and over again. the best comments are always the one with a little bit of meat to them so that you have something to discuss. if it’s always just “Great post omg you’re amazing!” (which I can admit to doing once or twice in addition to adding some extra stuff in there) then it’s totally natural that they’re gonna be a bit of sameness to your replies!
    As for having been swallowed by infinite darkness before. No not yet, but I’m expecting it to reach me any second now *looks at watch*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SELF PROMO is sooo awkward – YES YES YES. Like why does it even exist, please? Why can’t someone do this for me? Like I do rarely do self-promo and like I’m sure it’s not awkward with other people but I just die in a hole of embarrassment. LIKE YOU DONT HAVE To read my blog, I’d just appreciate it. How do i put this?

      I definitely agree with comments getting repetitive. I’m guilty of sometimes just writing those little tiny comments just agreeing with the post and saying i love it? BUT I TRY NOT TO DO THIS. I love comments with a bit of ‘meat’ like yours but I’m not very good at articulating myself. Oops. And i have the most lamest replies of ever so don’t egt me started on that

      Like

Leave a Reply

